Student Loan and Roth Advice

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
newbinvestor

Student Loan and Roth Advice

Post by newbinvestor »

Hey guys, I have been reading the site for a couple of months now and have really got a lot out of everyone's advice/tips I have come across. I have a random question relating to my student loans that I figured I'd see if anyone had any input on.

Situation: I graduated college last year and lived at home for a year to save up and knock down some student loans. I began contributing to a roth IRA right when I started my career and this has grown from approximately $6k (of contributions) to $10k over the past year and a half. I have been able to pay my student loans down from about $50k to $30k, and I would really like to pay these off as fast as possible to free up cash flow. My question is, does anyone know if contributions that are taken out of a Roth IRA are either taxed or are subject to the 10% penalty? I have about 6 months of expenses saved up, and I'd like to knock out this debt (6.55% interest) as fast as possible. My thought is that all the while knocking out debt quicker, I am not expecting much more than 6.55% return in the near future on my Roth and I still have earnings left in my Roth to invest that could be used in an extreme emergency. I'd appreciate any advice you guys may have.

Income: $53k
Student Loans: $30k (6.55%)
Other Debt (car died): $20k (1.9%)
Savings: 6 months expenses
Mill

Re: Student Loan and Roth Advice

Post by Mill »

Welcome to Bogleheads.