Moving to Japan Self Employed.

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
monocle

Moving to Japan Self Employed.

Post by monocle »

I'm a software developer that gets paid in US funds to a US account. I work from home and can work from any location in the world. I run our business currently with an LLC and use a SEP-IRA to defer taxes.
We are planning to move to Japan in 3 years and most likely settle there for retirement.
The business is bringing in 200K+ per year.

I've been trying to figure out a way to reduce our taxes once in Japan. Does anyone have any familiarity with this type of situation?

Options I'm thinking currently.

1. Keep it how it is.
-All pass through income with Foreign Earned Income Exclusion
-But… the self employment taxes don't get any deductions and my individual tax bracket in Japan will be 40%(ughh)

2. Switch to a C-Corp
-Pay myself and my Japanese spouse around 90K each… under the FEIE and dividends for the extra with capital gains tax.
-Our individual Japan tax brackets will be 23% with 15% capital gains on the extra
-Would I have to file US income taxes for my spouse? She's a non US citizen… currently a resident alien in the US. Once we move to Japan she will be just a regular Japanese citizen with no ties to the US except me.

3. Move the company offshore. (not the illegal way)
-Pay myself and my spouse as in option 2, but then leave the extra profits in the company to grow tax deferred.

Does anybody know a tax accounting firm that is good at handling these types of situations?

Also looking to build a new house with cash once we get there (around 300k). Are there any US deductions I can take for that? Any advice on transferring large sums like that?

When living as an expat getting paid in US currency and spending in another currency, are there any hard,fast rules for mitigating exchange rate differences?