Transferring property

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
vchiu25

Transferring property

Post by vchiu25 »

We are transferring a single family home between family in Washington state (no money involved). I did some research, look like we need to do a quitclaim and excise tax affidavit.

Has anyone in the forum done this before? Is this something I can do myself or should I get an attorney? How do people usually go about finding a good attorney? I contacted one and he wanted $400 for it. That seems a bit high?
Last edited by vchiu25 on Sat Jul 27, 2013 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ksb

Re: Transferring property in Washington state

Post by ksb »

Disclaimer: I am an attorney licensed to practice in WA, but I'm not your attorney. And for all you know, I could be a really poor attorney who's currently at risk of being disbarred. Caveat emptor.

I did a similar thing (quitclaim my mom's house to my parents' community property). $400 seems reasonable for an attorney to do this, because even if it's just not complicated work, just dealing with a client takes some time.

If you want to do it yourself, you need a quitclaim deed like this: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=64.04.050

Then you need to take it down to your county's recorder's office and pay a fee to have it recorded.

You also need to fill out the excise tax affidavit (http://dor.wa.gov/docs/forms/realestexc ... ffid_e.pdf) and figure out the appropriate exemption (http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-61a)
Topic Author
vchiu25

Post by vchiu25 »

Thanks, the forms seems a bit confusing, maybe I do need help.

Has anyone have any experience with LegalZoom?

What is the best way of finding a local attorney if I go down that route?
seattlereader

Post by seattlereader »

Very timely as i was just getting ready to research this subject.