Feeling trapped in a dead-end finance job

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

Feeling trapped in a dead-end finance job

Postby trapped959 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 12:16 pm

I work as a senior analyst in corporate finance and am starting to feel trapped in my current career path. I don't really find the work interesting or challenging anymore, but I'm having trouble transitioning to something else. I was a math major at an Ivy with poor grades and a 3.1 overall GPA. I didn't know enough about finance in undergrad to work towards getting a summer internship at an investment bank or some other analyst-type position, so now I feel locked out of that career track entirely. I was planning on going to graduate school to do research in math, but the classes were just too hard, so I had to settle for my current job. I'm 28 and only make around $50k, and I feel like all my peers are surpassing me. I've thought about getting an MBA, but I think it's pretty useless if you can't get into Harvard, Stanford, or Wharton, which I doubt I will with my grades and work experience. The same goes for shelling out $100k to take accounting courses to get the CPA. Maybe I could study and take the CFA? I'd like to do business development, but I can't seem to get interviews from any of the companies I apply to. It seems they all want ex-MBB consultants or investment bankers. Any thoughts on what I should do? Thanks for your help.
trapped959

Re: Feeling trapped in a dead-end finance job

Postby Andyrunner » Fri Jul 12, 2013 12:39 pm

Sounds like you need to figure out what you want to do. CFA/CPA are completely different things. Applying for jobs is one thing, working contacts will get you much farther.