Anyone know the San Antonio, TX area?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Gardener

Anyone know the San Antonio, TX area?

Post by Gardener »

Are there any nice, safe areas to raise a family near Lackland Air Force base in San Antonio? If so, what areas, neighborhoods?

I am a government contractor and have the opportunity to move to San Antonio. Ideally, I would like to live within ten minutes of my work, which would be at Lackland. I would be looking to buy a house in the 250-350k range.

Thanks for any guidance!

Gregg
Hampstead, MD
dhodson

Re: Anyone know the San Antonio, TX area?

Post by dhodson »

I wouldn't recommend living outside lackland.

I'd look near Alamo heights or in the nw corner.

Might need to add 5-10 min to drive.
RobInCT

Post by RobInCT »

No familiarity with that area, but city-data.com is a good place to look for information about these sorts of things:

Link to city-data search on LAB
Topic Author
Gardener

Post by Gardener »

Thank you very much for your responses.

Will look at Alamo Heights.

And just finished reading through the city data forum, which provided some good ideas as well.
alphagaiter

Post by alphagaiter »

I currently live in San Antonio, grew up here and moved back in 2006. School districts matter as does traffic. I've noticed in the last couple years that traffic has gotten worse as more people relocated to Texas and San Antonio.

Some points:

-Alamo Ranch is a large new "master planned" area right near Lackland off Loop 1604 and 151. A lot of Lackland employees live in that area. Most price ranges are there and all built within the last few years. Also in Northside ISD which is one of the better school districts.