I have no idea what I want to do as a career

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

I have no idea what I want to do as a career

Postby mlipps » Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:09 am

Sage bogleheads, I am in need of your advice. I'm 23 years old & I have no idea what kind of career I want. Normally, I'd see where life takes me and try not to stress about it. However, I currently work for a university and my tuition benefits will kick in with Spring Semester 2014. I can take any courses, graduate or undergraduate, here for free except the law & medical programs.

Currently, I have a B.A. (not a BBA) in Economics & a B.A. in International Studies. My undergrad GPA was around a 3.35. I work as an administrative assistant now, but I know I'm capable of something much better.

My priorities in life are not my career. The perfect job would first and foremost allow work life balance and, ideally, be a field where it is common for folks to work part time or do consulting/contracting, so that I could have the option when we're ready to have kids in a few years.

I'm really smart. That's not a brag, it's just a fact. When I apply myself, I'm capable of just about anything. Math does not intimidate me, although theoretical things like proofs don't really interest me. I've taught myself almost everything I know about personal finance & I think I'd be a great advisor, but the path to that career almost inevitably requires something like insurance sales or investment advisor that makes my skin crawl. My husband works as a database administrator/software engineer. I think I have the intelligence and ability to act as a business analyst or project manager in IT, but I don't know that I have the desire to learn the programming skills needed to get there.