roof damage.

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
wacobay

roof damage.

Post by wacobay »

In one of the hail storms here in the Houston area, I noticed some damage to my tin roof on my small patio. This leads me to wonder if there might not have also been damage to my larger roof. IO can't see any but then again I'm not a professional. My question is should I ask my insurance company to send out an appraiser to look at the roof or would I be wiser to ask a roofing company to come out first. My thought is that it would be in the best interest of my insurance company to tell me that my roof is fine and the roofing company to tell me it needs a new roof. Hopefully I'll just get the truth. Thanks in advance for you wisdom and knowledge.
livesoft

Re: roof damage.

Post by livesoft »

What are your neighbors doing? Generally, in a damaging hail storms there will be a cluster of claims.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
jeffyscott

Post by jeffyscott »

We had the insurance adjuster do this. This actually means you are filing a claim even if they say there is no damage, I believe. At the time we did this, I was told by our agent that this type of claim would not affect our rates.

Whatever the situation is with the rest of the roof, you do have damage to the tin roof that you can claim.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

jeffyscott wrote:We had the insurance adjuster do this. This actually means you are filing a claim even if they say there is no damage, I believe. At the time we did this, I was told by our agent that this type of claim would not affect our rates.

Whatever the situation is with the rest of the roof, you do have damage to the tin roof that you can claim.
But a deductible would figure into this, wouldn't it?
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
Topic Author
wacobay

Post by wacobay »