Retirement contribution

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
Stash

Retirement contribution

Post by Stash »

Admittedly, I'm very new to this topic. Also, this is my first post, so hello everyone! :-)

Here is my story:

Married - both 30 with good jobs
$90K income after taxes
$1500 per month for rent and utilities
$2500 for groceries, and other daily expenditures (this obviously needs to be cut down, but that's another story)
About $20K in checking/savings

This seems like it leaves a lot to be saved, but my question is how/where to you allocate it?

If both employer 401(k) accounts are maxed out, that only leaves $7000 for the year. This does not account for trips, vacations, large purchases, or replenishing from an emergency etc. This also does not allow for other investments such as Roth IRAs or mutual funds. If we could live with $7K cash after expenses and 401(K) contributions, would this be the best thing to do, or is there a better course of action?

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by Stash on Fri May 17, 2013 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kmok

Re: Retirement distribution

Post by kmok »

First off all, you might want to rename the thread to retirement contribution.

On your question, the general contribution order is (1) contribute to 401k till you get the maximum employer match (2) contribute to ira or roth ira (3) max your 401k contribution (4) invest via taxable account.

Note that this is just a general rule, it still depends on your 401k plan and match and other factors. Usually IRA offers better investing options and lower fees, but it is also less protected in case of law suits.

The other big consideration is roth or traditional account, which a lot of factors will need to be considered.
Peter Foley

Post by Peter Foley »

Stash