Emergency Room Visit -- HDHP

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

Emergency Room Visit -- HDHP

Postby runnergirl » Wed May 15, 2013 10:47 pm

This is my first year with an HDHP. Prior to this, we paid very little for health care costs because of a generous insurance plan. The other day someone in the family ended up at the ER. I am very nervous as to the bill. Haven't received it yet. Does the insurer negotiate a good rate for customers who have a high deductible ($3000)? Or am I treated as a cash customer and will end up with a large bill? It seems to me the insurance company will not have an incentive to negotiate a good rate on my behalf because I have to pay such a high deductible. When I get the bill, can I negotiate with the hospital?
runnergirl

Re: Emergency Room Visit -- HDHP

Postby livesoft » Wed May 15, 2013 10:49 pm

The rate has been pre-negotiated and should be in your plan documents or online. Also these HDHP all have toll-free numbers for questions.

I would guess the incentive for them to have pre-negotiated is the chance that you have already met your deductible through other health incidents and that they would end up paying the entire bill.
Last edited by livesoft on Wed May 15, 2013 10:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
It's all about short-term opportunistic rebalancing due to a short-term change in one's asset allocation, uh, I mean opportunistic rebalancing, uh I mean rebalancing, uh I mean market timing.
livesoft

Postby LadyGeek » Wed May 15, 2013 10:53 pm

This thread is now in the Personal Finance (Not Investing) forum (insurance).
To some, the glass is half full. To others, the glass is half empty. To an engineer, it's twice the size it needs to be.
LadyGeek
Site Admin

Postby CaliJim » Wed May 15, 2013 11:02 pm