Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby SkierMom » Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:03 pm

Anyone upgrading to Mint.com?
SkierMom
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby assumer » Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:05 pm

SkierMom wrote:Anyone upgrading to Mint.com?


Yes. Mint pulls my vanguard IRA information perfectly. In addition, if you have read-access to anyone else's account (e.g. family member) via vanguard it will pull that information as well automatically.
assumer
 
Posts: 361
Joined: 22 Dec 2012

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby SkierMom » Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:51 pm

Perfect. Thanks I figured it out.

Do you use Mint.com exclusively as a replacement for Quicken?
SkierMom
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby assumer » Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:57 pm

SkierMom wrote:Perfect. Thanks I figured it out.

Do you use Mint.com exclusively as a replacement for Quicken?


I never used quicken, I started directly with mint. I added custom categories to fit my personal budget, which is the most important aspect of it for me. I also manually input cash transactions to fit them within my budget.
assumer
 
Posts: 361
Joined: 22 Dec 2012

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby LadyLopez » Thu Mar 14, 2013 2:44 pm

Mint.com is my go-to program for budget management. I love it!
LadyLopez
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Dec 2012
Location: Southern California

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby Rosco » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:08 pm

what's it cost to use? SS
Rosco
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 19 Oct 2012

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby Piecake » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:32 pm

Rosco wrote:what's it cost to use? SS


Mint is free
Piecake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 May 2012

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby henry A » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:48 pm

Piecake wrote:
Rosco wrote:what's it cost to use? SS


Mint is free



All you have to do is give up the passwords to your life savings! :twisted:
henry A
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 4 Feb 2013

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby ebeard » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:57 pm

I use mint.com but I'm not crazy about the investments part of the application. It will reliably give you the market value correctly but has never calculated asset allocation correctly or performance correctly. I use it and I like it but beware of the statistics it gives regarding investments.

Here is the FAQ on their Security:

https://www.mint.com/how-it-works/security/faq/
3 core funds. Don't just do something, stand there.
User avatar
ebeard
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 18 May 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby tylerdurden » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:16 pm

Just for another data point, Mint.com has all my Vanguard mutual fund information, but it does not include anything in my brokerage (stock, ETF) account. I'm not sure if that is a bug, just a problem with my account, or by design.
"The things you own end up owning you." -TD
User avatar
tylerdurden
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 9 Mar 2013
Location: Indiana

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby lwfitzge » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:21 pm

I've been a minter for awhile. I too am not thrilled w the investment side. I do love it for tracking expenses in real time and for budgeting. I've only had one issue re: updating my Vanguard site in the last year or two. Also, I'm impressed w the customer service, especially that it's a free site.
lwfitzge
 
Posts: 311
Joined: 12 Jun 2011

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby motodoc42 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:38 pm

henry A wrote:
Piecake wrote:
Rosco wrote:what's it cost to use? SS


Mint is free



All you have to do is give up the passwords to your life savings! :twisted:


This raises the issue of security and safety of using such a program in the first place.
Motodoc42
motodoc42
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Location: Tennessee

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby purple » Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:47 pm

motodoc42 wrote:
henry A wrote:
Piecake wrote:
Rosco wrote:what's it cost to use? SS


Mint is free



All you have to do is give up the passwords to your life savings! :twisted:


This raises the issue of security and safety of using such a program in the first place.
Motodoc42


This is one of the reasons why I started to use portfolio-hub. It allows me to track my investment portfolio without having to submit my login credentials to my accounts.
purple
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Jan 2013

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby SSSS » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:41 am

motodoc42 wrote:This raises the issue of security and safety of using such a program in the first place.


ING Direct allows things like Mint to access it in read-only mode, using a different password than the one you log in with. All financial institutions should have this functionality, but unfortunately most of them don't yet.
User avatar
SSSS
 
Posts: 1846
Joined: 18 Jun 2010

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby mickcris » Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:30 pm

tylerdurden wrote:Just for another data point, Mint.com has all my Vanguard mutual fund information, but it does not include anything in my brokerage (stock, ETF) account. I'm not sure if that is a bug, just a problem with my account, or by design.


I think you have to add the Vanguard brokerage account separately.
mickcris
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 31 Jan 2011

Re: Is Vanguard compatible with Mint.com?

Postby Kernschatten » Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:13 am

mickcris wrote:
tylerdurden wrote:Just for another data point, Mint.com has all my Vanguard mutual fund information, but it does not include anything in my brokerage (stock, ETF) account. I'm not sure if that is a bug, just a problem with my account, or by design.


I think you have to add the Vanguard brokerage account separately.

Additionally, sometimes Mint doesn't aggregate a new source of funds within an account if it did not exist at the time Mint was linked to it. Solutions including re-adding Vanguard (whoever) and telling it to ignore the duplicate or to delete the old link (and the history associated with it) and add it as new account.
User avatar
Kernschatten
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 6 Jan 2013
Location: World Taveller


Return to Personal Finance (Not Investing)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aorin, busterk, cathyr, covepatrol, DaftInvestor, IlliniDave, kbrinaldi, Minnesota97, ray.james, SnapShots, teacher, travelnut11, Will do good and 75 guests