Taxes: Preparer versus Software

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

Taxes: Preparer versus Software

Postby js2012 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:22 pm

I have been going to a tax preparer for the past 6 years and pay $130 a year. I like him but I also notice he has these big signs up around his office about how he will not represent you if you are audited.

I am a teacher, have a school loan that will be paid off, invest in a Roth IRA, make clothing donations that are tax-deductible and take a deduction for my union dues and school supplies.

So, my question is: is it worth it to go to a tax professional or would software be fine? I guess what I'm not sure of is if the tax software will guide me through my career specific deductions. Or even if I, someone who knows nothing of taxes and withholdings, would be able to even understand it.

Any help is appreciated.
Thank you!
js2012

Re: Taxes: Preparer versus Software

Postby ResNullius » Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:38 pm

I don't know for sure, but I would bet that 99.99% of tax preparers use software to prepare your tax returns, virtually identical to what can be purchased in any computer store or office supply store. By the way, I pay a CPA $250 to do out state and federal returns, and I know he uses a professional version of TurboTax.
ResNullius

Postby SSSS » Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:49 pm

Probably 90%+ of people would be better off with software.

To be sure you're not missing any deductions, you can prepare your return with multiple services (you don't pay until you file), verify they all match, and then only pay for the cheapest (hint: TaxAct). If you find a deduction in one that you missed in another, you can go back and fix it.
SSSS

Postby Toons » Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:49 pm