If you don't owe any income tax, are you supposed to file?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

If you don't owe any income tax, are you supposed to file?

Postby tc101 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:08 pm

I actually owe zero income tax this year. Am I still supposed to file?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
tc101

Re: If you don't owe any income tax, are you supposed to fil

Postby tc101 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:10 pm

I found the answer, and the link is below if anyone wants to read the details. The short answer is that you are not required to file, but it is still usually a good idea to file anyway.

http://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tools/ta ... 14238.html
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
tc101

Postby billern » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:11 pm

Owing no income tax does not determine whether you have a filing requirement or not.

If you are under the thresholds for certain types of income, you have no tax filing requirement. Read the IRS and State publications and form instructions.
billern

Postby jsl11 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:13 pm

If you are due a refund, you certainly should file.
Jeff
jsl11

Postby crowd79 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:33 pm

Look at your W-2's. Was Federal (& State) income tax withheld? If yes, then you definitely want to file to get a refund. If you did not have tax withheld, then there's a possibility you owe.

Either way, I definitely would file.
crowd79

Postby nisiprius » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:40 pm

"Who must file" is not the same as "who must pay." If, for example, you have assembled enough itemized deductions and other things that you owe zero taxes--I don't know if that's literally still possible--the IRS will want the details of how you did it.