Shocked, renting cheaper for me than buying home..

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

Shocked, renting cheaper for me than buying home..

Postby crowd79 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:18 pm

I've been pondering about buying a house for a few years now. I live in a very low-cost living area with low home prices, and been looking at possibly getting a 100k house outside town in a few years. As it turns out, continuing to rent my side of the duplex (shared with landlord-lives on other side) at $390 per month here in the city w/ water, sewer included plus shared internet is cheaper than home buying over 30 years, if I invest the difference into retirement as opposed to an average home appreciation of 3% in my area. Also, would not claim mortgage deduction with just a 4% interest mortgage payment, for example....

I used the this calculator from this website:
http://michaelbluejay.com/house/rentvsbuy.html
crowd79

Re: Shocked, renting cheaper for me than buying home..

Postby Zytos » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:35 pm

Renting was cheaper in my high-cost area (buying on Long Island, NY vs. renting in Queens) but this was one of those few situations where we made the financially irrational decision to buy. For future kids and general desire to own our home, and whatnot.
Zytos

Postby billyt » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:41 pm

All else being equal, most people would prefer to own their home. This is why it is generally more expensive. People are willing to pay more to own.
billyt

Postby NYBoglehead » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:55 pm

billyt wrote:All else being equal, most people would prefer to own their home. This is why it is generally more expensive. People are willing to pay more to own.