Question about becoming a CFP

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
lm002e

Question about becoming a CFP

Post by lm002e »

Hi all! I can only assume that a forum such as this has more than its fair share of Certified Financial Planners roaming around. So... I just started taking CFP classes this fall. I really enjoy the subject matter but I have one dilemma: I don't currently work in the financial services industry and I have no intention of changing careers (at least not for many years) . I currently work as a paramedic for a local gov't agency that provides great benefits. And as a bonus, I really love being a paramedic so I'm not looking at changing careers. My question is this: is it possible to work as a CFP part-time? I think I'd be interested in perhaps working for a non-profit doing financial planning for underserved, low-income people on a part-time or as needed basis. Does such a thing exist? I'd hate to finish all these classes ($700 per class!) only to find out that there are no professional opportunities for a financial planner in my position. Thank you very much for your input.

Luke
Beat The Street

Re: Question about becoming a CFP

Post by Beat The Street »

Most financial advisors aren't even CFPs. For you to get the CFP designation you will need 3 years of experience in the financial services industry, no way around it, and you will need to pass the comprehensive exam. I believe you could get a series 66 license to become an investment advisor to charge a fee for investment advice part time.
“Never ask anyone for their opinion, forecast, or recommendation. Just ask them what they have—or don’t have—in their portfolio.” -Taleb
grok87

Post by grok87 »