Student Loans - Pay As You Earn

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills

Student Loans - Pay As You Earn

Postby rasputin » Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:32 pm

I'm interested in the Pay As You Earn Program to repay my grad school loans. I contacted my loan servicer, Great Lakes, and was given the following information which i'd like to verify -

- The Pay As You Earn program is currently on hold and they're not sure when it will be active.

- You can apply for Income Based Repayment for now and then apply for Pay As You Earn when it's available.

- Your payments for both IBR and Pay As You Earn are based on the most recent income tax filing. For instance, last year I was a student and made only $1,000 (AGI) so that will be used for this year's payment schedule even though i'm employed this year and earn much more.

---

does anyone have detailed knowledge of these issues?

thanks
rasputin

Re: Student Loans - Pay As You Earn

Postby jimbojones » Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:40 am

This website has most of the details. It looks like the program will take effect some time during December.

http://studentaid.ed.gov/repay-loans/understand/plans/pay-as-you-earn

The big winners are folks with huge student loan balances.
jimbojones

Postby Grt2bOutdoors » Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:42 am

Doesn't interest accrue on unpaid balances? :confused
"Luck is not a strategy" Asking Portfolio Questions
Grt2bOutdoors

Postby jimbojones » Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:53 am

Grt2bOutdoors wrote:Doesn't interest accrue on unpaid balances? :confused

Yes, yes it does. An example:

$150,000 student loan debt
$100,000 AGI
3 Family Size
7.15% Average Interest Rate