Tesla S

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Offshore

Tesla S

Post by Offshore »

I usually don't get excited about a car. I've been driving a Prius since 2008. It suits me.

The more I read about the Tesla S, the more I find myself getting excited. What excites me is that it has performance, it uses no gasoline, it's big enough to seat my family and the base model is 49k (still a lot). They want 5k deposit, which is fully refundable (1 year wait).

Does anyone have any information, either good or bad on the vehicle?
nisiprius
Advisory Board
Location: The terrestrial, globular, planetary hunk of matter, flattened at the poles, is my abode.--O. Henry

Re: Tesla S

Post by nisiprius »

Saw some documentary in which Elon Musk was telling long-faced investors about how much money he'd taken from them and how far he was from having anything to show for them.

I gather the company has partially recovered since then, but the degree to which this is a real company with a real product in real production, versus--remember the scene in "Tucker" where they are trying to show the car at an auto show or press conference or something, and the car is behind the curtain and the curtain is going up, and the Tucker people notice that the car is actually on fire?

Is it real, or is it just another Tucker or another DeLorean?
Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure nineteen nineteen and six, result happiness; Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure twenty pounds ought and six, result misery.
Taylor Larimore

Post by Taylor Larimore »

Tesla: