Most Economical Way to Handle the Lawn

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
kjvmartin

Most Economical Way to Handle the Lawn

Post by kjvmartin »

Greetings,

I've successfully bought a modest house which will allow me to adequately fund my retirement. I've got a new project - "My Lawn"

This is a bit daunting to me, as I've been an apartment dweller. The house is only 1000 square feet and the lot is 1/2 acre. It's in a great neighborhood. There's trees, but it's mostly just a lot of grass. Well.... it's a lot of grass, dirt, clover, and other assorted weeds at the moment. My new neighbor politely spoke to me about the state of the lawn before I even closed on the house. The area is well-kept, and his lawn looks like a ball-park.

What on earth do I do?

As a novice, I'm looking at two options. I'm leaning toward hiring a lawn company for around $35 a week while handling my own fertilizing/weed removal. I'm in a state with 4 seasons, so the cutting would be spring-fall. Another option is going all in for $2000-3000 worth of lawn equipment (riding mower, trimmer, blower etc). I'm not as scared of the up front costs of the equipment as I am about maintaining it properly to ensure optimal benefit. I'd go with consumer reports best buys for my equipment, and the house does have a detached garage for storage. Considering fuel, oil, maintenance, etc, is it worth it to buy all of the equipment, or should I hire this out?

Any ideas?

Mike
livesoft

Re: Most Economical Way to Handle the Lawn

Post by livesoft »

Ask your neighbor for help. Let it be his project.

I do my own lawn work. My equipment is a leaf rake, a hose, cheap fertilizer spreader, and a cheap lawnmower. Maybe $300 for everything if bought new and $60 total at a garage sale.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
Topic Author
kjvmartin

Post by kjvmartin »