What do you drive, and why?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
tc101

What do you drive, and why?

Post by tc101 »

I'll start.

I drive a 2003 Ford Crown Vic with about 120K miles. I bought it when it was 3 years old in 2006.

I drive it because -
It has great leg room and I am tall and have long legs
It is reliable. Mechanics tell me what great cars Crown Vics are
It is big and feels comfortable and safe
I like the way it feels

I am thinking about a new car because -
It is 11 years old and will eventually become less reliable.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
stoptothink

Re: What do you drive, and why?

Post by stoptothink »

Our primary vehicle is a '09 Hyundai accent. My truck was totaled by a hit and run driver about 3yrs ago, I only had liability insurance so it was a total loss. I had $11k in my emergency fund and wasn't about to spend more. It was the cheapest way to get me from point a to point B, reliably and for a long time.

We also have a '99 crown victoria. It was my wife's when we married. Next day after we married, I mailed a check to pay it off. I hate the car, everything electronic has failed on me in the past year, but it is paid off, mechanically we have had no issues, and its gets driven maybe 100 miles a month. It should be our 2nd vehicle for at least a few more years.

When it isn't snowing, or about half the year, I commute by bike. Wife drives the Hyundai every day.
sramina

Post by sramina »

My wife and I have a 2004 Honda Civic which has been great. It was fairly cheap, gets good gas mileage, and has minimal problems. The only problem is that it is a tiny bit too small for me and the backseat is cramped for our guests as well.