Who do you trust when you must ask for advice.

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
Depardieu

Who do you trust when you must ask for advice.

Post by Depardieu »

I will try to keep this short.

I am a graduate student (master of administration) about to graduate. I am being recruited by Edward Jones to open up a new branch in my small town. I have heard horror stories about EJ and how their business model allows for unethical decision making by the financial adviser.

I really like the idea of being a financial adviser, but I do not want to be in a position where I'm constantly forced to put my interests ahead of the client. Who, then, should I work for? What fee-only firm would give me a great future as a financial adviser?

I am trying to understand the business but I am just getting started, so I could use some insight. Here are my sources of information on Edward jones:

I asked a question at ask.metafilter.com : http://ask.metafilter.com/270193/Do-you ... ne-3923520

Bogleheads forum discussion on Edward Jones:
http://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=737961
RadAudit
Location: Second star on the right and straight on 'til morning

Re: Who do you trust when you must ask for advice.

Post by RadAudit »

Welcome to the forum.

Trust your gut.

My folks had and I still have an account at Ed. Jones. While I don't believe Ed Jones promotes unethical behavior, I do believe that some of their products / sales may not be at the lowest price available in the marketplace. I don't think that is necessarily unethical.

Now it may be that the products / sales are offered to individuals who could use the product but are unable / unwilling to find it on their own and are willing to pay the extra cost for someone else to find it for them.