Ideas for thanking a doctor

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
rjbraun

Ideas for thanking a doctor

Post by rjbraun »

There seem to be a lot of doctors on this site, so I figure I've got the right audience here. I saw Dr. Sandeep Jauhar's book "Doctored" at the bookstore recently and then read his WSJ piece yesterday (actually, maybe the release date was today).

I guess I've been fortunate, as I've had some positive experiences with doctors. I'm also fortunate in that I'm in generally excellent health, so I'm talking more about just appreciating when the doctor seems to spend perhaps a bit more time to provide care and / or seems to take my questions or concerns seriously and shows care.

I think I always thank the doctor and am polite, etc., but is there something I can do beyond that? In one case I wrote a thank you note with a musical picture on the card, since I knew my doctor played the cello. In this instance I know less about the doctor but want to thank him for having been attentive to the issue at hand (both figuratively and literally, as it turns out,). I was thinking of maybe buying a modest box of sweets or something, but who knows if he likes candy. I suppose he could give them away if he didn't want them. Any other ideas? I just think spending more than $20 or so might be a bit much, given the context of things

http://online.wsj.com/articles/the-u-s- ... S=Doctored
burgrat

Re: Ideas for thanking a doctor

Post by burgrat »

I'm not a "real doctor", I'm an orthodontist :D and I have received a simple thank you card from time to time and that really means a lot. Just the simple act of them taking the time to thank me is very heartfelt. Any gifts, like chocolates, etc., I will share with my staff. For me, any more than that is excessive.

*Now as a Boglehead, I think the ultimate gift you can give a doctor is this (shout out to EmergDoc!):