Medical Textbook for the Layperson?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
aude

Medical Textbook for the Layperson?

Post by aude »

Can anyone recommend a medical textbook for a non-healthcare professional? This is not a solicitation for medical advice, but I feel like reading the right book might help me be a better-educated consumer of healthcare. I am familiar with PDR, and Merck Manual but am hoping for something like an 800 page overview of medicine instead of an encyclopedic reference. Thanks!
donocash

Re: Medical Textbook for the Layperson?

Post by donocash »

I can't really recommend a general medicine textbook -I think you're better off reading up on a specific topic that interests you or affects you. Having to read up on a disease that you actually have wonderfully sharpens the mind. As a retired physician, I can't help but wonder if a motivated patient can know from internet research a lot of things about a medical condition that their physician doesn't know. Doesn't replace experience, but done right an informed patient can't make their physician better - I really do believe that.

That said, I have a lot of respect for the books put out by the Mayo Clinic for the general public. That's where I would start. Many are available at your public library, either in their collection or available by interlibrary loan.
letsgobobby

Post by letsgobobby »

Up to date has good info for patients, not sure of cost or if free. I have an institutional subscription.
BL

Post by BL »

Not a med person here, but I also like Mayo Clinic as an easy to read first source.
Pub Med is another reliable source of abstracts and links to articles, some of which are available free, about a lot of medical research. Your public library might be able to help you here.