Where in New Jersey to buy home with NYC commute, children?

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
huntertheory

Where in New Jersey to buy home with NYC commute, children?

Post by huntertheory »

I appreciate all the advice I've received on Bogleheads over the years. My wife and I currently live in Manhattan, which is also where I work, and we have a young baby who is just a bit shy of three months. My wife and I are both 31 years old. My work will keep me in Manhattan for the foreseeable future (I'm a corporate/transactional attorney for a law firm here in the city), but as our family grows and we begin thinking about school for our children, we don't think Manhattan is the long run answer. Our plan is for my wife to stay home with the children, again, at least for the foreseeable future.

We are planning on moving out of the city in the next two years, and the thought is to move to somewhere in New Jersey, as my wife's family currently lives there (I am from a southern state, so some kind of greenery for the kids is appealing to me as well). We currently rent, and our thought would be to rent for a year in the new location to "try it out," but to otherwise purchase a home in the next 2-3 years.

I'm wondering if the Bogleheads have any recommendations on towns in New Jersey that:
  • 1) have a manageable commute to Manhattan (preferably by train)

2) have good/affordable school options nearby

3) generally have a nice balance of community/amenities/safety/etc with cost of living/property values/property taxes.
I know that's fairly open ended but any leads or advice would be appreciated. I'm happy to provide more detail/background on us as needed.
EagertoLearnMore

Re: Where in New Jersey to buy home with NYC commute, childr

Post by EagertoLearnMore »