Bogleheads' "Rags to Riches" Stories

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
EternalOptimist

Bogleheads' "Rags to Riches" Stories

Post by EternalOptimist »

I'm sure many of us would love to hear some personal stories about how you overcame adversity/obstacles/poverty etc to achieve your success. This would serve to inspire and motivate us to achieve as well. Thanks :!:
"When nothing goes right....go left"
dratkinson

Re: Bogleheads' "Rags to Riches" Stories

Post by dratkinson »

Could also read some of the books by Thomas J. Stanley. He spent several years researching millionaires. If memory serves:
The Millionaire Next Door
The Millionaire Mind
Stop Acting Rich and Start Living Like a Real Millionaire.
d.r.a., not dr.a. | I'm a novice investor; you are forewarned.
sperry8

Post by sperry8 »

My quick story...

Grew up in an upper middle class neighborhood spoiled by a well to do father who gave me more than I needed. He went bankrupt when I was in an expensive University he was paying for, that I chose. I was 18 and didn't understand. I stayed in that same University using my credit cards to pay for it and all my expenses. Ran up almost $35,000 in debt (yes, they actually gave a college kid with no history a plethora of credit). Finally at $35k, they wouldn't give me any more. So I moved home to a local city college. Got 2 night jobs, bartending and valet parking cars for the local Jewish center, where I was embarrassed to park the cars of all my friends and families and accept $1 tips that I sorely needed. On weekends I would go to baseball card shows and sell my collection for whatever I could get. I also moved back in with the parents, where I paid 1/2 the rent to help them out. And I swore I'd never depend on anyone for money again.