Advice wanted on PenFed's low-rate car-buying service

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
winglessangel31

Advice wanted on PenFed's low-rate car-buying service

Post by winglessangel31 »

Hey all,

I'm a fresh graduate starting a new job with a salary in the 28% tax bracket, but with very little liquidity as I will just be starting. I understand that many people suggest buying a used car and/or paying cash, but at this stage of my life, I'm slightly image-conscious (and will be very unwilling to buy a really old car that doesn't look good anymore), tech-loving (and will be a little unhappy to own a car [for 8+ years!] without the features I have come to learn and love like Bluetooth streaming / phone connectivity and so on), and mechanically-unhandy (and will be attempting to learn about cars over the next few years so I won't be too comfortable risking buying a too-used car that might come with troubles). Thus I have my eyes set on cars from 2011 and onward, either new or with a lot of life left in them; that will likely mean something in the $10k--20k range, and my very little liquidity kind of means that I will need to take out a loan.

I have also done something really bad. I have fallen in love with a certain car. It makes my purchasing decision a lot easier (I think), but it does make it harder to consider other options (well, to be fair, I considered other options first, and then realized that this car seems to be the best option for me, and so I fell in love with it). It is the Hyundai Elantra GT.