Need opinions about my broker's strategy

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Need opinions about my broker's strategy

Postby matonplayer » Wed May 22, 2013 11:17 pm

Hi, newbie here. I've been a reader of the forums for a while but have never posted before. Anyway, I was hoping you could offer some independent opinions on my broker's strategy. Last year I came into possession of a seven figure sum which i plan to use as my retirement nest egg, hoping to last 40 years. At the advice of a friend at church who works in the financial industry, I signed up with a broker/adviser who works at one of the large brokerage firms. His strategy is somewhat out of the ordinary - he's had me in 50% cash for almost a year, as he expects a significant market correction. In the meantime, we generate income by selling both naked puts and covered calls. His expertise is supposedly in options strategies - he claims that the goal isn't to make the portfolio last, but to generate more than enough income from the nest egg to live on. He claims that he uses the same strategies for both his own and his children's portfolios, and I have no reason to doubt him.

That said, it's difficult watching the market go up and up while the value of my portfolio goes sideways, primarily because I've been assigned to buy stock which then subsequently goes further south.

Any opinions/ideas/suggestions?

Thanks

Stan
Last edited by matonplayer on Sat May 25, 2013 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
matonplayer

Re: Need opinions about my broker's strategy

Postby bottlecap » Thu May 23, 2013 12:15 am

Yes, can him. You need to educate yourself (welcome to the best place on earth to do that) and, if you still need one, seek a financial advisor. A broker is little more than a salesman. His strategy is a fool's errand. No one knows when the market will correct, but in the meantime, you need a plan, not a broker.

Good luck,

JT
bottlecap