Portfolio Review and Taxable account help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Portfolio Review and Taxable account help

Postby ugaDAWGS09 » Wed May 22, 2013 1:14 pm

(My other thread was lost in the crash)

I’m a 27 year old pharmacist, and I’m looking for some advice with my 401k and I would also like to invest in a taxable account.

My emergency fund is in place
I currently only have two debts, a student loan of about 6,000, and a mortgage of about 200k (low interest of 3.875)

Tax status is married filing jointly, and I live in GA. I’m in the 28% federal tax bracket.

My desired AA is about 75/25, but I like to be a little safer so I may go with 70/30.

All of my investments are currently in tax-deferred accounts: 68k in my 401k, and 10k in my Roth. All of my wife’s investments are also in tax-deferred: 20k in 401k.

My 401k is through JP Morgan. I currently contribute 12,500 a year (plus 5000 match and 2800 profit share), however, I will be maxing out as of this year.

My Roth is invested in VWELX. I maxed out last year, and will continue to do so in the future. We are starting a Roth for my wife this year, and will be contributing the max to her account as of this year. As of now, we are going to invest her
account in VWELX, but may decide to do a split of VTI, VXUS, BND. I chose VWELX because I like the safer allocation and low cost of the fund, plus it has performed well and is well established.

My wife’s 401k is through Nationwide. She contributes 4800 a year, but her company isn’t currently providing a match. She doesn’t make nearly what I make and would have to cut her take home pay by more than half to max out her 401 and she just isn’t going to do that right now. We obviously have extra income because we have about 50k available to invest in a taxable account, but she still doesn’t want to see such a huge amount come out of her check.

My JP Morgan available funds: