Relocating advice

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
mchop

Relocating advice

Post by mchop »

Hi All,

I just accepted a position on the other side of the country. I have been a consultant my entire 18 yr work career and am about to become an employee for the first time. Although not a "requirement" that i relocate, i am someone who dives into challenges 100% and I therefore see us moving. It will not be a rush to move as I will be able to commute and work remotely in the interim.

Does anyone have any names of companies and approx costs (or how estimate the cost) of moving a 2 bed house from the coast to the coast. Just my wife and I

I appreciate i could potentially save money by doing a lot of this myself (uhaul etc..), but I really dont want to introduce unnecessary stress and am trying to determine a 'stress premium' that i might pay to have a company do this for us. E.g. I would be willing to pay a premium of say $2K - $3K more to a company than hiring a truck and doing the drive myself.

Any other thoughts / experiences appreciated.
ieee488

Re: Relocating advice

Post by ieee488 »

They charge based on weight and distance.

Just for a local move, I paid nearly $1K.
Dell Optiplex 3020 (Win7 Pro), Dell Precision M6300 (Ubuntu Linux 12.04), Dell Precision M6300 (Win7 Pro), Dell Latitude D531 (Vista)
BerkeleyChris

Post by BerkeleyChris »