Two Qs about Apps for Android

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities

Two Qs about Apps for Android

Postby Faith20879 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:40 pm

Hi,

I know there are several tech savvy residents here. I am new to the world of android tablets and would greatly appreciate your pointers.

1. My camera takes films in .avi format and my tablet plays .mp4 only. I believe I need to either get an app that plays avi or convert my files to .mp4. Could you tell me what the pros and cons are for these options?
2. Is .avi format being phased out?
3. I have a free app called Mahjong. The tablet’s battery usage summary says the Mahjong is constantly using 4% of the power even when I am not playing. I tried the "Force Stop" but the summary remains unchanged. Does this mean Mahjong is eating away my battery? Is this cause of concern?

Thanks in advance,
Faith
Faith20879

Re: Two Qs about Apps for Android

Postby paulsiu » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:29 pm

1. Both avi and mp4 are essentially media containers. It's the format that's stored inside the container that matters. For example, a 720p movie stored in an avi will have the same quality of a 720p movie stored in mp4. I am guessing that your camera will use the same encoding for both avi and mp4 so there is no advantage or disadvantage of using either.

2. The power app probably takes an average of power over a time period, so if you kill off the Majong it will take a while for the numbers to go down. If it's not running, it's not taking up power.

Paul
paulsiu

Postby Quickfoot » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:26 pm