Sell limit on ETF

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
seamles

Sell limit on ETF

Post by seamles »

I just bought some ETF's but I'm afraid I'm catching the high again from the 08 crash.

I wanted to see if anyone uses stop limits on ETF, where if I bought at 60 it will sell at 50. I've never used it before and don't know if it's a good idea.

I unfortunately bought a lot of index funds at the end of 07 ish and that didn't work too well.

I just saw an investmentu article that says the stop limit is a great idea.

I trust the Bogleheads forum for the best options out there.
DSInvestor

Post by DSInvestor »

If you're nervous about losing money in your stock holdings, I'd suggest reducing your stock holdings and boosting bond holdings. Pick an asset allocation that you'd be comfortable holding through all market conditions. Rebalance to maintain asset allocation and control your risk.

See pkcrafter's Investing Essentials
http://investingroadmap.wordpress.com/

Here's a growth chart of three funds:
VTSMX - Vanguard Total Stock Market
VGTSX - Vanguard Total International Stock Market Index
VBMFX - Vanguard Total Bond Market Index

There are times when bonds will outperform stocks (2002-2003 and 2008-2009). At these times, you'd need to add stocks to maintain AA. The asset allocation plan would tell you to add stocks while they're low.

There are times when stocks outperform bonds (2003-2007 and 2009-2011). At these times, you'd need to add bonds to maintain AA. Your asset allocation plan would tell you that your stocks are high, that you should add bonds instead.
FireProof

Post by FireProof »

Of course it's a bad idea, but more than that, it makes no sense. If it has just dropped, then the valuation has just become BETTER than it was when you were happily holding it.

You should be rebalancing more INTO the ETF.
xerty24

Post by xerty24 »