Asset allocation, Social Security and other pensions

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
henrytow

Asset allocation, Social Security and other pensions

Post by henrytow »

I am new to Bogleheads and apologize if I am going over already plowed land. But I am reasonably sophisticated (CFA, Ph.D. economics) and have never seen the following idea discussed or analyzed with any rigor:

Virtually everyone reading this either has or expects to have a pension from Social Security. Many have or will also have a pension, perhaps indexed from the government, and the same thoughts apply here as well.

My Social Security pension is equivalent to an inflation-indexed fixed annuity and should be valued and considered as such in my asset allocation. The higher my Social Security pension, the lower need be my allocation to conventional fixed income securities.

One thing I don't know: What is the capitalized value of my Social Security? Does anyone sell an inflation-indexed fixed annuity that would be comparable?
earlyout

Post by earlyout »

There has been a lot of discussion about how one should consider their future SS benefit in their AA. Not everyone agrees with your assumption that it should be included in your AA because including your potential SS benefit as a fixed income asset can lead to everything else in your portfolio being equities.

The best place to start is by entering "SS in AA" in the Bogleheads search box.

EO
alec

Re: Asset allocation, Social Security and other pensions

Post by alec »

henrytow wrote:I am new to Bogleheads and apologize if I am going over already plowed land. But I am reasonably sophisticated (CFA, Ph.D. economics) and have never seen the following idea discussed or analyzed with any rigor: