Any other geeks working on software to manage their investme

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
PapaGeek

Any other geeks working on software to manage their investme

Post by PapaGeek »

I retired a year ago. I was a software engineer, hence the logon name of papageek, and I was working for a Hedge Fund that used trend following as one of the methods for investing in foreign currencies.

Naturally, once I was free of the SEC looking at everything I do, I’ve started writing my own trend following software for mutual funds and I was wondering if there are any other computer geeks in this forum who are doing the same thing.

On Edit: 11/3 I thought I’d give those reading this post a picture of what I am doing and why I’m doing it.

This all started because as I was investigating the websites of the various brokers, I found them to be lacking. On each you could create a list of funds, such as those that can be traded with no loads, and then sort the lists on the current returns for 1 month, 3 months, 1 year, YTD, etc. The problem was that after sorting the data on a single column, I could not see how the fund compared to other funds when sorted on another column.

So, I wrote a program to do the investigation and present it the way I wanted to look at the data. My program uses an external list of funds for comparison. The current list is over 380 funds and takes about 30 minutes to produce the report shown below. My plan is to the run the program every weekend and most likely move one or two funds around every couple of months.

The first 3 rows show the performance of the top 3 market indexes for the illustrated list of timeframes. The rest of the rows show the funds I am following listed in an order which the program calculates.