Spreadsheet for Rebalancing Bands

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
subham

Spreadsheet for Rebalancing Bands

Post by subham »

Newbie here and searched the blog but could not find suitable answer.

I started maintaining my portfolio in excel. I tried to come up with a way to implement the rebalancing with bands with following goals:

1) Implement 5/25 rule in http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Rebalancing
2) Rebalance without selling by adding new money even if bands fire
3) Incorporate DCA plan
4) Send alerts to email if bands fire

Very quickly the complexity of my spreadsheet went up and I had to spend hours to debug it. I am now porting it into google spreadsheets to get real time quotes and hopefully will figure out how to send email alerts when the bands fire so i dont need to look at my portfolio frequently.

Having said that, it got me thinking, how is everyone doing this? although these are very basic steps we need to implement, it is not straight forward at all and I was hoping there is a software that does this. For bogle philosophy to be truly simple, the rebalancing exercise should be simplified as well. Else it beats the purpose of passive lazy investing. I am hoping to find a simple mechanism that I can just pass on to my successors to maintain my portfolio when the time comes without scaring them off with unnecessary complexity.

I have looked at a few spreadsheets posted by others (in the wiki) here but none of them have the rebalancng bands implemented and also don't have anything to address #2, #3 and #4 which I think are very useful features.

Am I missing something here? Surely someone would have figured out all this by now!!
hoppy08520

Re: Spreadsheet for Rebalancing Bands

Post by hoppy08520 »

Subham, as an occasional programmer and spreadsheet junkie, I admire your ambition. If you can get your spreadsheet to do all that, the congratulations.