Setting up a spreadsheet?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Bustoff

Setting up a spreadsheet?

Post by Bustoff »

I tried setting up a spreadsheet in Microsoft Excel. I have no experience with spreadsheets or Excel and it's kind of intimidating.

Anyway, I have a feeling I did not set it up correctly. In the vertical column are all my account totals. When I change an amount it automatically changes the total at the bottom of the column.

In my horizontal rows across the top I have the above mentioned account totals broken down into equities, bonds, cash, taxable and tax-advantaged.
For some reason the amounts in the horizontal rows wont change. :oops:

Are spreadsheets too advanced for someone like me who knows nothing about spreadsheets or Excel ?
Dutch

Re: Setting up a spreadsheet?

Post by Dutch »

No, you'll get the hang of it. Spreadsheets are as difficult as you want them to be. You can do a lot with just some basic skills.

Can you post a screenshot? That would help to understand your problem.
Topic Author
Bustoff

Post by Bustoff »

Dutch wrote:Can you post a screenshot? That would help to understand your problem.
No, I can't copy it.
Probably a bad idea asking about this on the forum when I can't articulate what I'm trying to do.
2retire

Post by 2retire »

If you have a Google account, you can go to http://docs.google.com and create one. You can also share it out with others so they can help you with whatever you are having problems with.
Kosmo

Post by Kosmo »

Maybe you could post the formulas you're using that are giving unexpected results. Excel has a decent help feature, but only if you know which functions you should be using. For simple arithmetic, fractions, percentages, and things like that you should be able to pick it up pretty quickly once you're pointed in the right direction.
#Cruncher

Post by #Cruncher »