Emergency savings strategy

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
NeoInvestor

Emergency savings strategy

Post by NeoInvestor »

Hi everyone,

I am new to investing and currently doing a lot of reading and research on formulating a good long term investment strategy. I apologize for any naive questions.
I recently came across an article titled "Rethink your emergency savings strategy".

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/rethin ... 2014-03-11

I wanted to get an opinion from members about what investment veichles are best for your emergency funds ?
Any personal experiences? pros/cons?

Happy investing!
LadyGeek
Site Admin

Re: Emergency savings strategy

Post by LadyGeek »

Welcome! Take a look in the wiki: Emergency fund, which represents a forum consensus on strategy.

Heads up, the article listed by the OP: Rethink your emergency savings strategy, contains opinions by by forum member Mike Piper, who posts here as ObliviousInvestor.
Wiki To some, the glass is half full. To others, the glass is half empty. To an engineer, it's twice the size it needs to be.
Stonebr

Post by Stonebr »

Keeping emergency savings in stocks and market value bond accounts is great when you are affluent, retired, and care-free. Or even when you are working, affluent and loaded with $. But when starting out, use FDIC accounts -- CDs and money market funds. Nowadays you'll find that online savings and CD accounts are the best place.

You'll sleep better.
"have more than thou showest, | speak less than thou knowest" -- The Fool in King Lear
scamper

Post by scamper »