REIT vs other sector funds for rebalancing

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
tc101

REIT vs other sector funds for rebalancing

Post by tc101 »

Many people here recommend an allocation to the REIT fund because it behaves differently than the total stock market. One fund may go up when the other goes down and there may be a rebalancing bonus. Why are REITs better for this than the other sector funds such as Energy, Health Care, Precious Metals and Mining, or the sector specific ETFs?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
NoRoboGuy

Re: REIT vs other sector funds for rebalancing

Post by NoRoboGuy »

Because while REITs are equity instruments, they represent holding companies for various categories of real estate. The factors driving real estate markets are distinctly different from other industries comprising the stock market: for example, land, rents, housing, timber, etc. and represent a larger part of the economy than represented by their capitalization within stock markets. The tax status of REITs requires the majority of earnings to be directly passed to shareholders. If you are considering REITs, you would need to place them in tax-advantaged accounts. Finally, not all Bogleheads will agree REITs should be a separate portfolio holding - the most common argument against is that REITs are already in the the broad market index, so adding is "tilting" much like when investors tilt to small value.

I do not hold them for a "rebalancing bonus" but for a higher risk-adjusted return. REIT's performance characteristics add diversification for me within the equity space. I also include international REITs for the same reason.
Last edited by NoRoboGuy on Fri May 17, 2013 11:42 am, edited 2 times in total.
There is no free lunch.
abuss368
Location: Where the water is warm, the drinks are cold, and I don't know the names of the players!