Aftershock

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.

Aftershock

Postby khalestorm » Thu May 09, 2013 10:16 am

khalestorm

Re: Aftershock

Postby momar » Thu May 09, 2013 10:19 am

I don't.
"Index funds have a place in your portfolio, but you'll never beat the index with them." - Words of wisdom from a Fidelity rep
momar

Postby Johm221122 » Thu May 09, 2013 10:19 am

Turn off the noise
John
Johm221122

Postby Toons » Thu May 09, 2013 10:20 am

Yawn :happy
"One does not accumulate but eliminate. It is not daily increase but daily decrease. The height of cultivation always runs to simplicity" –Bruce Lee
Toons

Postby Johm221122 » Thu May 09, 2013 10:22 am

khalestorm wrote:What do you guys think about this?
http://w3.newsmax.com/a/aftershockb/vid ... de=110D8-1

Try this, it will help
http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Boglehea ... philosophy
John
Johm221122

Postby khalestorm » Thu May 09, 2013 10:22 am

Scare tactics? I'm a newb...
khalestorm

Postby zaboomafoozarg » Thu May 09, 2013 10:23 am

LOL, they've been re-releasing that "news article" for a couple of years now. See it all the time on weather.com and some other sites. Just a sensational ad to try to sell a book.

The guy selling it obviously believes in the dollar enough to use his time and energy to try to take yours.
Last edited by zaboomafoozarg on Thu May 09, 2013 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
zaboomafoozarg

Postby The Wizard » Thu May 09, 2013 10:23 am

There's always a fringe element predicting some sort of economic collapse along with a survivalist plan for coping with it.
This is probably a lockable thread, but I wasn't interested in watching that silly video...
Attempted new signature...
The Wizard

Postby af895 » Thu May 09, 2013 10:25 am

http://bucks.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/10/ ... l-economy/

From the article: