How do I build wealth?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
xiosen

How do I build wealth?

Post by xiosen »

Hello Bogleheads,

I have been coming here for a few years and I been reading about how some others have been building wealth. I am wondering how their plans mesh with the boglehead world. Basically they suggest doing a mix of the following:

Growth Rate - Investment
4% - CDs
8% - Index Funds
15% - Stocks
30% - Real-Estate together with Stocks
45% - Real-Estate together with Stocks and Small Businesses
50+ - Start your own business

Note: once you get to the higher growth rates (i.e. stocks, real-estate, and business) in the table above, it is assumed that you will use leverage (i.e. other people's money and time) and actively manage them to increase your returns to the indicative levels.

I am basically in the process of doing this and I am wondering what is the best boglehead way of doing it. I already have some liquid savings in a high interest savings / cds. I also have been maxing out my IRA and investing all other extra income into vanguard according to the core 4 portfolio. I also am a web developer so I actively try to build new business ideas and am going to focus more on that in 2013 versus maintaining my existing service based one since it can't really be sold or grown any further.