low-rate environment for the rest of our lives ?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
tc101

low-rate environment for the rest of our lives ?

Post by tc101 »

This is just one man's opinion, but something to think about
“Our longer-term, secular view is that we’re in a low-rate environment for the rest of our lives,” said Michael Collins, senior investment officer at Prudential Fixed Income and co-manager of the Prudential Total Return Bond Fund
If this is true, how does it effect our retirement?

Even with 0 real growth, a 4% withdrawel rate should last 25 years.

I am 62. The probability of my living another 25 years is low. However if the 55% of my portfolio in fixed income actually declines a lot due to returns much lower than inflation then I may end up with a lower standard of living some day.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
Call_Me_Op

Re: low-rate environment for the rest of our lives ?

Post by Call_Me_Op »

If equities provide their historical 7% real over the long term, that will help a lot on offsetting the negative real rates on fixed-income should it persist.
Best regards, -Op | | "In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity." Einstein
bengal22

Post by bengal22 »

tc101 wrote:This is just one man's opinion, but something to think about
“Our longer-term, secular view is that we’re in a low-rate environment for the rest of our lives,” said Michael Collins, senior investment officer at Prudential Fixed Income and co-manager of the Prudential Total Return Bond Fund
If this is true, how does it effect our retirement?

Even with 0 real growth, a 4% withdrawel rate should last 25 years.

I am 62. The probability of my living another 25 years is low. However if the 55% of my portfolio in fixed income actually declines a lot due to returns much lower than inflation then I may end up with a lower standard of living some day.