Backdoor Roth IRA questions

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Backdoor Roth IRA questions

Postby rtlexx » Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:28 pm

I've been doing a little bit of research about the backdoor/stealth Roth IRA. It sounds relatively easy to do, but there are some details that I don't fully understand.

I am a 31 year old physician and recently just graduated from residency. My salary still qualifies for Roth IRA contributions, but in about 1-2 years my salary will no longer qualify. So I'm not in a hurry to try to setup a 'backdoor' contribution, but I want to slowly, carefully, and methodically setup a path towards doing a 'backdoor'.

I currently have a Roth IRA and I am also trying to quickly setup a SEP-IRA (I do a lot of independent contractor physician work) in the next week so I can deduct taxes for 2011. I tried to setup an individual 401k for 2011, but unfortunately the deadline passed several months ago. I do not have an employer 401k. I also don't think that my future potential employer that I will work for in a few months will provide a 401k or any other type of IRA. So I plan on setting up an individual 401k for 2012 since I will still perform some independent contract work from this point forward.