403b

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

403b

Postby plau » Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:53 pm

I am almost 30 years old and am employed at a public university. I am just beginning to educate myself on investing. I currently contribute to my 403b plan which is through Fidelity. I was just wondering what opinions there are about Fidelity and if it would be wise to look into other companies.
plau

Postby ObliviousInvestor » Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:56 pm

Welcome to the forum. :)

Fidelity can be a great place to build a low-cost, diversified portfolio.

If you share the funds available in your plan, you'd probably get some helpful input. If you want the best input, see this thread for what information to provide.
Mike Piper, author/blogger
ObliviousInvestor

Postby livesoft » Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:01 pm

With a 403(b), one has to use the funds that your employer makes available. One cannot just go out and invest in anything. So if Fidelity is what your employer offers in its 403(b), then it really doesn't matter what opinions folks have about Fidelity because that's what you have to use.

Now if one said something like, "I can choose Fidelity or Vanguard or TIAA-CREF or American funds, then which one should I choose?", then that's a different more narrowed question.
This signature message sponsored by LadyGeek.
livesoft

403b

Postby plau » Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:46 pm

I do have other companies available such as TIAA CREF and T. Rowe Price. I just want to make sure I've got my money in the right place. I'm still young and obviously want to get the most from my investment.
plau

Postby friar1610 » Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:55 pm