Newbie seeking 2nd opinion on Ameriprise Advisor’s advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
noviceneedshelp

Newbie seeking 2nd opinion on Ameriprise Advisor’s advice

Post by noviceneedshelp »

Hello,
I am a complete investment novice. I found your forum yesterday and have been spending all of my free time trying to absorb as much as possible. I am looking forward to reading through the resources mentioned throughout the forum. In the meantime, I would be very grateful for your advice on my immediate situation. Thank you so much in advance. Here is a summary: (sorry this is so long)

• My husband and I are recently married, and are both novice investors. We decided to seek the advice of an advisor to help us better understand our options and plan our financial future.
• Yesterday we had our 3rd meeting with our new Ameriprise advisor (we paid her a yearly planning fee). She had made some recommendations previously (listed below), and we agreed to go ahead with recommendations #1 - #4 for now.
• We signed all of the paperwork regarding moving our retirement investments. We were running out of time at the end of the meeting, and we asked her to hold off on the actual transfer until we called her to confirm verbally. The main reason for this is I wanted to find out what fees I would incur for moving my money out of my current funds.
• The wrap fee on the paperwork I signed was 1.25%.
• After I got home, I realized that I felt very unclear about what fees/expenses we would actually pay on this Active Diversified account and how this would compare to the existing Fidelity and Principal funds, as well as what other options were out there and how the total expenses compared.

Ameriprise Advisor Recommendations: