Roth Alternatives?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
ggartrell

Roth Alternatives?

Post by ggartrell »

Hi,
I'm rather new to this, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question. My current income makes me ineligible for Roth contributions. My only non-taxable account is my employer 401(k) which is maxed out. What other non-taxable options do I have, if any? Should I open up a traditional IRA? Thanks for your help.
cliffedelgado

Post by cliffedelgado »

There are at least 2 possible options for getting money into a Roth IRA.

1) As you mentioned, open up a traditional IRA and contribute non-deductible money. Convert that to a Roth IRA

2) This is not as common as it depends on your employer 401k. Some allow you to contribute after-tax money to the 401k. And then an even smaller subset allow you to take in-service withdrawals (even with age < 59) of the after-tax amount which can then be rolled into a Roth IRA.
House Blend

Re: Roth Alternatives?

Post by House Blend »

ggartrell wrote: I'm rather new to this, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question. My current income makes me ineligible for Roth contributions. My only non-taxable account is my employer 401(k) which is maxed out. What other non-taxable options do I have, if any? Should I open up a traditional IRA? Thanks for your help.
Welcome to the forum.

Given that you have no other tax-advantaged accounts except your 401k (so for example, no rollover IRA), then you are in luck.

Make a non-deductible contribution to a traditional IRA.

Immediately convert it to Roth. Voila, you now have an indirect way of building a Roth. This topic comes up frequently around here. I wrote a longer post that also addresses the issues for people with existing trad IRAs: http://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtop ... 788#795788
Topic Author
ggartrell

Post by ggartrell »