Immediate annunities

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
martie67

Immediate annunities

Post by martie67 »

Hello all

I am relatively new to investing and retired about 4 years. I am considering purchasing an immediate fixed annuity to supplement soc. sec of 1900. Fidelity has proposed a single life annuity to provide approx 500/month at a cost of 91,500. Not inflation based. There is currently 226K in deferred IRA. Balance would remain in Wellesley. PS. Insurance company is Guardian insurance and annuity.

Question:

would this be my best way to obtain additional income.

Is there a fund I could invest in to generate 5-6% annually with minimal risk. Would this be a better alternative?

all responses appreciated
Uncle Pennybags

Re: Immediate annunities

Post by Uncle Pennybags »

martie67 wrote:Is there a fund I could invest in to generate 5-6% annually with minimal risk. Would this be a better alternative?

all responses appreciated
There is more to think about then just annual return. Your premium belongs to the insurance company; if you die a month after buying it all you get is one payment.

The question is how long are you going to live? I took the annuity instead of a lump sum for my defined benefit plan and it does give me peace of mind but that is guaranteed by a US government insurance program.
Gill

Re: Immediate annuities

Post by Gill »

First of all, don't just accept one quote on an immediate annuity. There are many insurance companies offering such arrangements and you will very likely find a better quote. Give us your age, sex and state of residence and we can give you some examples.
And, no, there is no safe investment that can give you the return you mentioned.
Gill
Cost basis is redundant. One has a basis in an investment | One advises and gives advice | One should follow the principle of investing one's principal
windhog

Post by windhog »