Portfolio Help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
avlfutbol

Portfolio Help

Post by avlfutbol »

Beginning to actually pay attention to my investing as I have just paid off a massive student loan. Also just noticed that I have a very high expense ratio on my Roth IRA. I just began pumping money in taxable accounts as I have eliminated all debt except car and sold a house. I have an aggressive outlook and mindset. I hold a master's degree in a reasonably stable industry with very specialized knowledge. Ideally, I will leverage background these relationships and start my own business in the next 3-5 years in the same industry. I have been late at life with everything and having gone through the exercise of breaking things down rather than throwing money at a dartboard, I realize that I am all over the place. I would like to consolidate this in a few simple funds.

Emergency Fund: Yes
Debt: Auto-18.5K at 0.9%
Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 25% Federal, 5% State
State of Residence: NJ
Desired Allocation: 85% stock/15% Bonds
Desired International: 15%

Current Total Portfolio: Low to mid six figures
Overall

TAXABLE (27%)
Cash: 17%
Vanguard Healthcare ETF (VGHCX): 5% (.35% Expense Ratio)
Vanguard Total Stock Market Admiral Shares (VTSAX): 5% (.05% Expense Ratio)

Tax-Advantaged
401K Vanguard (15%)

Target Retirement 2045 Trust I (VTIVX): 8.5% (Expense 0.0825%)
Fidelity Contrafund (FCNTX) 2.5% (Expense 0.64%)
Vanguard Institutional Index Fund Institutional Shares (VINIX): 1.5% (Expense 0.04%)
Vanguard Small Cap Index Fund Institutional Plus Shares (VSCPX) 1.5% (Expense 0.06%)
Company's Corporate Stock Fund (Strong Healthcare Company) 1% (Expense 0.0%)

Roth IRA at Buffalo Funds (58%)
Buffalo Discover Fund (BUFTX) 19%% (Expense 1.01%)
Buffalo Small Cap (BUFSX) 13% (Expense 1%)
Buffalo Large Cap (BUFEX) 12% (Expense 0.97%)
Buffalo Mid Cap (BUFMX) 11% (Expense 1.01%)