New here: Help with 401k, IRA, first taxable account

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
sunny_socal

New here: Help with 401k, IRA, first taxable account

Post by sunny_socal »

Hello,

First post. I haven't lurked long, but I can see that this is one of the best investment websites :D
I'm very new to the world of investing. I've participated in 401k, but that's been all and I haven't really paid attention to what I've been doing. However I've had some kind of "midlife crisis" and realized that I could have been doing a lot better and potentially be retiring early if I hadn't made some financial mistakes earlier in life. I'm now busy reading books and preparing for what's ahead.

Anyway, this is where I stand right now.

Background
Emergency funds: Fully funded for 6 months expenses
Debt: 360k Mortgage, 20-year, 3.625%. Plan to pay off in 10 years.
Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly
Tax Rate: 33% Federal, 10% State (however, the effective rate reduced after charitable giving and other itemization)
State of Residence: CA
Note: Not eligible for Roth or Backdoor Roth due to income limits

Desired Asset allocation: 70% stocks / 30% bonds
Desired International allocation: 50% of stocks

Current retirement assets
Taxable
None

Employer 401k at Fidelity
Value: low six figures.
Allocation:
- Vanguard Target Retirement 2035 (VTTHX) (0.18) [20%]

EDIT: This IRA will be rolled into the 401k due to Roth considerations:
Rollover IRA at Fidelity (Came from older 401k)
Current value mid six figures.
Current allocation:
- Fidelity Balanced Fund (FBALX) (0.56) [20%]
- Fidelity Freedom Fund 2040 (FFFFX) (0.78) [10%]
- Spartan US Bond Index Fidelity Advantage Class (FSITX) (0.17) [13%]
- Spartan Intl Index Fund Advantage Class (FSIVX) (0.12) [15%]
- Spartan Total Market Index Fidelity Advantage Class (FSTVX) (0.05)[7%]
- Spartan 500 Index Fund Advantage Class (FUSVX) (0.05)[15%]

Contributions