Should I offload Micro Caps?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
tetractys

Should I offload Micro Caps?

Post by tetractys »

I've been using BRSIX as a proxy for small-caps in my portfolio for several years now. For awhile it was held in a Roth, and then in taxable. For the last couple years BRSIX has had big capital gains, because the fund has done well and so has sold stocks that grew way beyond the funds CRSP 10 Index. So the realization has become clear, that when a cap based micro cap fund does well capital gains are commensurate. I've been reinvesting those cap gains for the last two years; but now am thinking of offloading the fund early next year for long term gains and reallocating the money into other parts of my taxable accounts. Of course this would change my allocation scheme.

So should I offload this micro cap fund, or stick with it? -- Tet
abuss368
Location: Where the water is warm, the drinks are cold, and I don't know the names of the players!

Re: Should I offload Micro Caps?

Post by abuss368 »

I would and consider Total Stock Index. Add REITs or Small Value to the mix if you would like.

No need to make a portfolio any more complex.

Best.
John C. Bogle: “Simplicity is the master key to financial success."
baw703916

Post by baw703916 »

I own IWC in taxable. It has never had a distribution in the several years I've owned it--the ETF structure makes a huge difference in allowing for index turnover w/o tax consequences. It has lagged BRSIX somewhat in 2013-14, but the difference in the 5 year performance between the two funds is almost exactly the difference in M*'s estimated tax costs.
Most of my posts assume no behavioral errors.
Topic Author
tetractys

Post by tetractys »

Abbuss,
Thanks, if I unload micro caps I will reallocate the money to upped allocations of small cap value, large cap value, total stock market and REITs.

Baw,