Timing with the market at the high?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
alexstjo

Timing with the market at the high?

Post by alexstjo »

Hi I am new to the bogle head way of investing. I have about $30k that i plan to put into 4 index funds at vanguard. My 401K is maxed out and i earn too much to do a roth.

I know we shouldn't try to time the market BUT with it hitting the highs right now i am a little bit scare to put $10K into the 500 index fund. I was thinking i might put some of the money into a bond fund right now and wait for the S&P to come off the high a little bit just becuase it would seem stupid to get in right now. Any input? I don't plan to take the $ out for at least 20 years but i still have a hard time getting in with the market at the high.

help?
blurryvision

Re: Timing with the market at the high?

Post by blurryvision »

Will it seem stupid if you wait another year to start investing and miss out on 30% returns? Consider dollar cost averaging the money.
DSInvestor

Post by DSInvestor »

Welcome to the forum. I assume that if your 401k were not maxed out you would be investing on a schedule every paycheck throughout all market conditions. How is this 10K any different other than it may be larger amount than your typical 401k contribution? How much do you have invested in the 401k and Roth IRA relative to that 10K? Let's say you have 50-200K in the other accounts. Are you not concerned about that money when markets at a high?