Improvement needed

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
bloom2708

Improvement needed

Post by bloom2708 »

I am pretty new to Bogleheads. I am a firm believer that if you think you are doing things "right" you probably are in fact not.

Here is my situation:

43, married (wife 44), 3 girls (14,10,6)

Investments $490k (my previous 401k rolled into here ~$240k of it)
Wife's 401k: $310k
Cash/Emergency Fund: $80k
College 529s: $80k
House: $320k
Commercial investments (small ownership %): $60k

Totally debt free (thanks Dave Ramsey), no mortgage, cars paid for, no credit card debt. Seemingly doing fine. But I am continually trying to improve. Reading, researching.

So what is up you ask?

Well...the $490k investments are at Edward Jones (gasp). 2 Advisory (1 taxable, 1 tax sheltered (partial 401k rollover in advisory), 2 Roth, Mutual funds (taxable). (No American Funds, tiny win?)

I know and have known I've been paying fees. Yes. Plenty of fees on those Advisory. Reading from this blog I have underestimated the impact of these fees over the long term. As many seem to do.

So, admitting and seeing your problems is 1/2 of the battle. Background: My EJ advisor is a long time friend. I really trust him. Conservative, thoughtful. His advice has been very helpful. I am also in two commercial investments with him outside of EJ. Kids similar ages. Same schools. Oh the folly. So without him I would not be in as good of a position.

We talk about fees and he has often suggested ways to minimize them in the scope of EJ. Which is probably an oxy moron of some type. He and EJ are maximizing their wealth, which is in fact not maximizing mine. Anyone been in a similar situation? If I didn't have such a good friendship I would start moving money asap. As it is, I kind of feel stuck. Perplexed.

I've read similar posts out here. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Wade
ieee488

Re: Improvement needed