Advice for the new immigrant

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
loserguy

Advice for the new immigrant

Post by loserguy »

I am an avid reader of this site and I thought this would be a great place to start as it likely has some smart folks on it.

My wife recently migrated from Pakistan about 9 months ago. She has a bachelor’s in commerce with a focus on accounting that is the equivalent of pretty much an associate’s degree if she was to take a couple some classes. She is 25 and unfortunately has no working experience. I am a first year radiology resident pretty much making 45k but we are still pretty comfortable because I do not have many expenses.

She really wants to work and build her career, particularly in accounting but she is open for anything that just gets her going. This will probably be a temporary thing until I finish residency and then she wants to take care of the kid/kids (none yet). This may change all together if she wants to do a 4 year college.

We really need some advice about how to proceed. I think it would be ideal for her to get a job paying 30-40k for several years to help collect some cash and improve our quality of life as well. She has no legal barriers to work as she is on greencard.

We have entertained multiple thoughts including volunteering to improve her English and cultural understanding of America, she has applied for several jobs at retailers that she can’t get probably because of limited communication (her English is much better than most foreigners but not the best), I got her an awesome interview at the hospital but she wasn’t able to secure the position probably due to her communication/cultural barrier and limited work experience.

My question is…
What is a smart way to proceed to have a bright future?
--Volunteering at a local school or even the nearby hospital has been suggested