Help with simplifying investments

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.

Help with simplifying investments

Postby dobrze13 » Sun Sep 01, 2013 3:59 pm

Hi Everyone, need some help with your advice about my investments.
I'm a 38 year old physician with 3 kids and a stay at home wife.
No debts except a 7/30 mortgage with an interest rate of 2.375%.
Monthly payment right now is $5300. The fixed period is up in 2019.
I earn a w2 salary as well as other contracting work with a 1099.
Florida resident
no state tax
marginal federal tax bracket 39.6%

My investments:

SEP-IRA Vanguard:
VWENX $112,527

TAXABLE
VTSAX $114,237
VTIAX $39,404

403B (PREVIOUS EMPLOYER)
ROTH PORTION
VANGUARD 2035 $67,244
PRE TAX
VANGUARD 2035 $40,279

457B (PREVIOUS EMPLOYER)
PRETAX
$107,068

ETRADE IRA
BRK.B $31,000
ROTH IRA
WLP $7700

UTAH
3 SEPARATE ACCOUNTS FOR 3 KIDS
TOTAL $65,000
EDVEST WISCONSIN
TOTAL $50,000

SEP IRA at work
$36,000
all in MIdcap with 5.5% sales fee
but 3% match to max $7500

I'm trying to fully fund the SEP IRA each year to get the match from employer and fully fund the simple ira.
(I did some research on the IRS website and apparently I can have both a sep and the simple ira. IS THAT CORRECT)
In addition, I'm also adding about $100,000 - $150,000 each year post tax into vanguard.
My goals with the 529 each year is to add about $10,000 per kid.

I'm not sure what asset allocation I should be seeking. I wish to be aggressive.
I'm avoiding pay down my mortgage..but will have to pay it down substantially by 2019 to get into non-jumbo loan status.
I have a principal agent trying to sign me to an investment plan with 1% fee.
All suggestions are welcome.
I am set with $2 million term life and comprehensive disability insurance.
I have a $5 million umbrella policy. (overinsurance)?
Thanks.
dobrze13

Re: Help with simplifying investments

Postby livesoft » Sun Sep 01, 2013 4:41 pm